Best In 2016: Cristiano Ronaldo Won The FIFA New Award “THE BEST”

In September 2016 FIFA and France Football stopped their cooperation and now each of them gives their own award.

On January 9 in Zurich FIFA gathered the best representatives of the football world. The organization was giving their new award to Best Player of the Year – FIFA the best for the first time. And, of course, it was taken by Cristiano Ronaldo!

Let’s see how it all happened and who other winners in different nominations are!


Stay tuned with the latest sports world events with Jiji!

The Best FIFA Men’s Player

Cristiano Bold

The winner was determined by vote among the coaches, captains of national teams, journalists and fans equally contributing their 25% to the general vote.

The best footballer award of 2016 according to the FIFA was given to the striker of Madrid “Real” and the national team of Portugal – Cristiano Ronaldo. The forward received the prize from the FIFA president Gianni Infantino.

The other nominees for the award were the striker of “Barcelona» Lionel Andrés Messi and the striker of “Atletico» Antoine Griezmann.

Ronaldo, who collects awards and prizes as autumn apples (Cristiano Ronaldo awards are numerous), did not express any particular delight because of getting another trophy. However, he could not resist joking that FIFA’s The Best award came tax-free!


“This is just awesome! For me, this is not the first experience of such kind, but I’m getting this award for the first time. I am very happy.

First of all I would like to thank our partners, the whole “Real Madrid”, and our team coach. Thanks to my family, my brother, my mother – to everyone! 2016 was the best year in my career.

I had many doubts, but this trophy reflects my success “, – says Christiano.

THE BEST FIFA MEN’S PLAYER 2016 – Cristiano Ronaldo – Award Presentation

Cristiano Ronaldo will remember 2016 for reaching the pinnacle on three fronts: for club, for country and individually. He was crowned a European champion for both Real Madrid and Portugal – with victory in the UEFA Champions League and UEFA EURO 2016 – and the legendary No7 further rubberstamped his place in the annals of footballing history by being named the world’s best player for the fourth time.

The Best FIFA Women’s Player

Carli Lloyd BOLD

FIFA the best woman football player of the year award was given to Carli Lloyd (“Houston Dash”).

She was sincerely surprised by it, because the US team left the competition as early as in the 1/4 finals at the Olympic Games in Rio, while the Germans became the champions.

THE BEST FIFA WOMEN’S PLAYER 2016 – Carli Lloyd – Award Presentation

Not since Marta’s astonishing run of being named the world’s leading women’s player five times in a row ended in 2010 has any woman won the top award in consecutive years – until now.

The «Puskas» award

Mohd Faiz Subri BOLD

The «Puskas” award (for the best goal) was given to a guy named Mohd Faiz Subri from Malaysia.

He was clearly embarrassed by the announcement of his name, and upon coming up the stage, was trying desperately to find something in his mobile phone for a long time, and finally read some English text written on a paper.

THE FIFA PUSKAS AWARD 2016 – Mohd Faiz Subri – Award Presentation

The first Malaysian to be nominated for the FIFA Puskás Award has claimed the prize, with Mohd Faiz Subri’s remarkable swerving free kick emerging as the best goal of the year after millions of votes on from fans across the world.

Award «for an Outstanding Career»

Alessandro Rosa Vieira BOLD

The award for an outstanding career was given to the 39-year-old captain of Brazil national futsal team Falcao. His full name is Alessandro Rosa Vieira and he is the two-time world champion.


Uploaded by FIFATV on 2017-01-09.

The “best coach” men’s award

Claudio Ranieri BOLD

FIFA the best coach award was given to an Italian Claudio Ranieri who helped the «Leicester» to win sensationally in the championship of England.

He managed to get ahead of such venerable colleagues as Fernando Manuel Fernandes da CostaSantos from Portugal (who with his national team won Euro 2016) and Zinedine Zidane (responsible for the triumph of “Real” in the Champions League).

Ranieri wins FIFA best men’s coach award

Claudio Ranieri was named FIFA’s best men’s coach of 2016 on Monday, after leading Leicester City to a fairytale Premier League title triumph

«Fair Play Award»

Fair Play Award BOLD

The “fair play” award went to “Atlético Nacional” club from the Colombian Medellin.

The “best coach” women’s award

Silvia Neid BOLD

The best women’s football coach in 2016 was declared Silvia Neid from Germany.

The national team under her leadership won the Olympic Games in Rio. Neid was the head of bundesteam in 2005-2016 but has already left the coaching position. Steffi Jones was appointed to be the new coach.


Uploaded by FIFATV on 2017-01-09.

The “Dream Team”!

Dream Team BOLD

Moreover, they announced the «Team of the Year» on the stage.

The hypothetic team included Manuel Neuer, Daniel Alves da Silva, Gerard Piqué Bernabéu, Sergio Ramos Garcí, Marcelo Vieira da Silva, Luka Modri?, Toni Kroos, Andrés Iniesta Luján, Lionel Messi, Luis Alberto Suárez Díaz, and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Stay up-to-date with greatest world sport news with Jiji!